Samantha Caramela: Her Campus Editor for Rowan University Talks Journalism & Feminism

Her name is Samantha Caramela. She is 20 years old from Franklin Township, NJ. She is the editor for Her Campus Rowan, which is a chapter of the national online blog, Her Campus.
When I asked how the blog started, she responded with the following:
“I actually didn’t start the blog. I believe that one of Rowan’s alumni started it when she was a student; I took over the position of President this year from Jacqueline Klecak. Basically, there are about ten of us, and some others here and there, who meet every other week to discuss topics and material. We cover various topics, from mental health to fashion. Opposed to what many believe, we are not strictly a girl’s magazine. We actually have a male contributor and write for a broad audience. “
Since she is the editor, she does not necessarily write all of the posts on the blog.
“It is tough to manage this blog when I’m so busy with internships and classes; sometimes, a few writers are too busy to make deadline, which I completely understand. But being the editor, I can’t afford to miss a deadline; sometimes, I’m left writing last minute articles to make up for any empty sections. “
Some of the articles that Samantha has written include a post about mental illness survivors at Rowan, a post dedicated to college girls and guilt, a post talking about changing friendships, and how to deal with stress over finals.
On her thoughts about journalism, and the online blogging industry, she had this to say:
“Blogging is taking over the journalism industry. Many writing platforms are online rather than in print—especially magazines.”
Her favorite or most interesting part of running the blog is,
“Honestly editing all of the articles. I learn so much from each writer’s style and voice. I love working with other young, passionate writers.”
Her advice for people just starting a blog is:
“I suggest to stick with a theme. Your consistency will attract a dedicated audience.”
When I asked her if she considered herself a feminist, her response was:
“I honestly do not consider myself a feminist. I am not saying I don’t believe in women’s rights—I think females should have the same rights as males. But today, I think many take feminism to an extreme, attacking men for societal issues, almost losing its meaning. I don’t blame men. I don’t blame women. I still believe in chivalry, but I also believe in independence. I will be the first to stand up for women’s rights—don’t get me wrong. But I think there is a better way to handle it. “
Which I find is a common thought among people who do not consider themselves feminists. This, more than anything, just shows that people still associate a negative connotation with feminism, and people think us feminists are about bringing down the men of the world, when all we strive for is equality.
Even though I thought Her Campus was a feminist blog, I guess I was wrong to assume a blog with the pronoun her in the title would consider themselves feminists. As one of my favorite authors once said,
“I’m a feminist. I’ve been a female for a long time now. It’d be stupid not to be on my own side.” – Maya Angelou
Leave a Reply

